August 2016 Favourites

Hello everyone,

This month has been a difficult month for sure. I am thankful most of my material for this blog was written in advanced and scheduled to post because I have been completely blocked. I have absolutely no other posts planned or scheduled, I am scrambling to get material up for you for this weekend. In fact I really didn’t find many things to favourite this month. I hate to see the bulk of our summer gone but in a way I am happy to see it go and so I can start a new month fresh and hopefully heal from my wounds and get inspired again. There are several things I am struggling with this month some really heavy emotions that are weighing in on my inspiration. I talked about inspiration and where I find it in a past post. One of the things I said was to take some time away and come back later. Only when I come back right now I am still really blocked. I popped on to Facebook which I don’t do that often and it just made me even more sad. My morale is low, my motivation is dwindling, and my creative desire is blocked. I am really hoping that whatever I come up with tonight for the weekend does not seem too forced. I feel I am going to struggle the most with the Monday Motivation post as I have nothing inspirational to say at this time, but I am going to still try to come up with something for you.

I did manage to find some things to favourite this month though. I think I could have done better with the photo this month but I did kind of whip it up last-minute and didn’t really plan for it as I have done in the past. It really has been a tough month…

Makeup and Beauty Product Favourites:

CoLab Dry Shampoo Sheer Invisible in London

I love this dry shampoo! I have been using it this month to refresh my hair. In these warm summer months my thick hair can get really hot and the first place I start to sweat is in my hair. This product has a great fragrance I like the invisible collection for refreshing hair and the volume ones for creating texture. They are my favourites dry shampoos hands down!

Spa Relaxus Facial Mask in Cucumber

This was my first go at a sheet mask it was actually a lot of fun. My spouse got a kick out of making fun of me with it on. I appreciate the light natural fragrance of cucumber and aloe on my face. It was very light almost non-existent. I like that there is no messy clean up just massage the remaining treatment into the skin and discard the mask. I feel like the mask was so easy I would probably do them more often if I got more. The only thing is I found myself sitting in front of the mirror “petting” the mask into my face more than I did relaxing with it on.

Metropolitan Tea company in Maple

Because I am Canadian and I bathe in maple syrup! No seriously though this is a delicious tea it actually tastes like a maple treat. I feel like I will be loving this tea even as we transition into fall as it is so yummy and like a nice warm hug.

Rimmel London The Only One in Cheeky Coral

For the longest time I have avoided coral colours, especially on the lips. Since falling in love with the coral blush I thought I would give the coral lipstick another go and why not do it with this highly pigmented super beautiful lipstick! This lipstick isn’t as long wearing as my go to but the colour payoff is incredible! I absolutely love it! I wore it to work and got so many compliments on it! I might go through my giveaway bag and rescue the other coral shades I neglected to really give a chance.

L’oreal True Match Lumi in Rose

I am loving this highlight as a subtle everyday highlighter because not everyone wants to look like an Instagram highlighted tin man. With a light hand this highlighter gives a nice glow without super metallic. though you can build it up and get a really intense look. I am wanting to try it with an eye makeup look next. I am sure I will like the results.

Television, Movies and Netflix Favourites:

We recently got cable as a promotion for being a good client with our company. If we signed up for one month of cable for free they would reduce our internet bill $20 bucks and give us a higher speed internet. I mean how can you go wrong. If you are not Canadian you may not know but us Canadians pay a ridiculous amount of money for internet and well any way to reduce that bill is a win! With the addition of Cable TV I have been exposed to commercials. Something that has not really been in prevalent in my life. I really like the scented crayons commercial when the Banana farts in the yellow crayon wax! Other than that the commercials are very emotionally draining and once I’ve seen them a couple of times I just get frustrated.

In addition to watching commercials I have been watching shows, most specifically I have been stuck on the HGTV channel. I love it, it is basically the only channel I have been on.

On Netflix I have been watching Being Human the UK version. I haven’t seen the USA version either so I can’t compare the two. I am just loving the way the jokes and story is delivered in the UK. Sometimes I forget the very different humour and I have been loving it. Such a refreshing change from being over influenced from the USA and from traditionally Canadian shows which glorify the many Canadian stereotypes. I am loving it, the show has me scared, excited, crying and laughing.

The movie I watched is called The To Do List. I was just looking for a laugh and I did find it on here. This is not usually my kind of humour but I had fun watching and that is what is important! This movie it not going to be appropriate for everyone.

Your Favourites:

My most viewed post from the month of August is What’s in My Bag and a close second to that was Friendship

My most Liked Post from the month of August is from NOTW actually the post Marble came in as the most liked! Second was Not Just Nudes.

In the future I hope to add to my favourites posts from you guys that I loved. This month was just so hard and honestly I hate to admit this but I have been a terrible follower and haven’t really been reading many of your posts. I am not ignoring you, I love you guys and your work keep it up!

Thanks,

15 thoughts on “August 2016 Favourites

  1. I hear you on preparing posts in advance.
    I was so busy lately and my head was full. By now all my prepared posts have been published and I really need to come up with some new ones.
    I love it when I know there are some posts ready to be published ahead and I really need to get moving again and fill this gap.

    Monday motivation? I keep this simple: I am able to put my feet on the floor, get up on my own and I can go to do a job that is paying for my living and even some extra. And there is a cup of coffee waiting for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The crazy thing is I have so many post ideas and even the photograhy for many but I haven’t done any photo editing or writing at all. So I gotta get to work here and just the spend the time getting caught up.

      That is a great motivation we are very lucky to have those things. Thank you for the reminder to appreciate that!

      mmm coffee

      Like

    1. I am really liking this one, I tried it out with a different brush and got a really intense look! I still haven’t tried it in an eye makeup look but I will soon. I have been wearing my eye makeup very sparingly lately because it’s been sad and shimmery makeup smeared tears are not cute! I am starting to feel better so i may bust out the eyeshadow more this week.

      Like

    1. Aw thank you so much I’m glad you do. I am sure it will be better I am focusing my mind on moving forward in a more positive way. The wounds are still really fresh so I am protective and mindful as I push on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We all have our times where we have blocks. It sucks, but I think that sometimes we come back as a much more stronger and positive person. I love reading your blog that I don’t often comment, and I think you were actually a very positive person! Don’t force things out, but instead I will give you some advice that I once followed when I was in a funk. Look for something positive in every day, even if it’s just finding a penny on the ground. Focus on the happy things that you can find and it will slowly help you climb up and find your way to your inspiration again. I sincerely wish you the best!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I believe you are right I will come out of this stronger and even more wiser though I know it is okay to be sad right now I know I will start to feel less and less sad. Thank you so much for your kind words they mean so much to me!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

