Cactus in bloom

Hello everyone,

I think this cactus has the most beautiful blossoms! I am pleased to share that mine is in bloom. So why is my thanksgiving Cactus blooming at Easter?

I did a bit of research on the Christmas cactus, Thanksgiving Cactus and Easter Cactus Schlumbergera. A lot of the time all these plants are mislabeled in the garden stores as Christmas Cactus but most of them are actually Thanksgiving Cactus. So how do you know what kind you have? The points on the segments, if your cactus has defined points like mine does you have a Thanksgiving Cactus. If the points on the segment and more rounded but still showing you have Christmas Cactus, if the segments are very smooth and barely show points this is an Easter cactus and the blooms look very different. Also the major difference of these plants is the time of year in which they blossom and bloom. Manipulated by light and temperatures. Though I also discovered these babies tend to blossom when they are root bound. I can tell you right now, there is no way the cactus is root bound. I just barely trans-potted it and it had next to no roots. I know now, that it is because of the pests. The other day I wrote about the Root Aphids, they have feasted on so much of this plants roots that it thinks it is root bound!

Another interesting thing I learned is this cactus actually grows aerial roots. If it feels it is not getting the nutrients it needs from the soil it will produce aerial roots. This Cactus is a tropical plant it actually grows in rocks and trees. So the cactus will also use the aerial roots to cling to the tree or rock as well as get sunlight and moisture. If your seeing aerial roots on your plant you may need to add nutrients to the soil by re-potting, feed it, or water more deeply. Mine is showing it’s aerial roots so I can only think it is because these death bringing ninja bugs root aphids are having a party eating it’s actual root. I don’t know for sure, and I don’t know much about just how healthy the plant actually is, and I don’t want to jinx anything, but if this cactus can get it’s nutrients from the air while I figure out how to destroy Root Aphids, it may just have a chance!

I mean it is blooming for crying out loud and it is beautiful!

9 thoughts on “Cactus in bloom

  1. Hi there! Thanks from following my blog. Good luck with your writing. By the way, I just came back from a trip to the southwest and I saw lots of cacti. Some were starting to bloom. Quite a sight if you like succulents!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh good, I’m glad you learned something from me! I was so curious about them for awhile as well and just googled all sorts of keywords and couldn’t find anything on them. Finally read something about them when I was looking into their natural habitat information. Pretty amazing the defense mechanism and abilities to adapt in the plant life species around us, fascinating.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I kept my great grandmother’s Christmas cactus for years. That cactus moved all over California with me. Those darned white flies and a white root fungus finally did it in – forty years after her death. Stay on top of those beasties. You should enjoy your cactus for many years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope so. If I am able to get rid of these root aphids man they are nasty things. It’s true this plants can live a long time. We visited an old historic farm house that had been around for a century. They had the upstairs sort of a mini museum of the house and it’s history. You saw pictures of the family and in the pictures there was a christmas cactus. As we continued to explore the house we saw the cactus from the pictures! I don’t know exactly how old the cactus was but the house itself dated from 1911 and in some of those old photos stood the cactus. Was an incredible plant in size and beauty.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

