Bangers and Mashed

Hello everyone,

Just a quick and easy dinner idea here for you. Seriously I could feed my man Mashed potatoes and gravy everyday and he would be a happy man! However I need to switch it up a bit.

I think a lot of the time in our busy lives we are losing touch with what makes us human! That being that as the only creature that actually prepares and cooks food has stopped cooking and preparing. It is so easy to just pick something pre-prepared or pre-cooked from the grocer or fast food on the way home. My mother always made a big deal about eating home cooked food and enjoying our meal together at the table.

In my world we eat at the only table I have which is a coffee table in front of the TV. My “open concept” condo does not really allow space for a functional dinning room so we skipped on that furnishing.

I try really hard to have a menu planned in advance and cook as much as I can from fresh ingredients. Yes there are days when i get home from work and cooking is the last thing on my mind but it is so important to eat balanced and healthy I do not want to eat that over processed food.

This meal honestly took me 30 minutes to prepare and cook. I think it would take me just as long to go out of my way to a fast food wait in line and bring it all home so really not taking up anymore time out of my day and way healthier and even more affordable.

Bangers and Mashed

Ingredients:

2-4 sausages depending on size

1 white onion, sliced

3 lg russet potatoes peeled and rough diced (smaller the faster the cook)

4 cups salted water

2 tbsp butter (divided)

1/4 cup milk

1 tbsp flour

2 cups beef stock

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Bring salted water to a boil and add diced potatoes
  2. Over medium high heat in a skillet fry sausages turning occasionally to brown all sides, Add onions about halfway through and cook until translucent and meat is fully cooked
  3. Meanwhile in a small saucepan over medium low heat combine 1 tbsp butter and flour to make a roux, cook for about 2 minutes, gradually pour in beef stock about 1/2 cup at a time stirring constantly.
  4. Once potatoes are tender drain off water add remaining butter and milk mash until desired consistency add more butter or milk if needed salt to taste

5 thoughts on “Bangers and Mashed

Leave a Reply

