NYX Cosmetics & A Travel Bag

Hello everyone,

I have been meaning to review this for awhile now. I actually acquired this during the holidays when all those awesome gift packs come out. Well I stashed this somewhere and forgot all about it and up until recently when I was looking for a travel bag for all my cosmetics. This clear case well be perfect for my upcoming trip, and all those travel size items.

NYX Pore Filler

I wasn’t all the satisfied with this product first time I used it all over as a primer and I noticed my skin looked very oily by my lunch hour, about 5 hours into wear time. So the next time I used it I only used it in some areas that perhaps my pores more were visible or enlarged I didn’t really notice much of a difference with this one. I won’t be purchasing the full size.

NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator in Sunbeam

This was yet another disappointment I didn’t get a nice natural glowing look but I got a streak of glitter. It’s not easy to blend into the cheeks and kind of smears your foundation. I tried just dabbing this one lightly but I instantly lose the soft sheen and get glitter cheeks. I am just going to use this more as a shadow when I just want a soft glittery look but no not as a highlight in any way.

NYX Butter Gloss in Creme Brulee

I actually really did not enjoy this one. The shade is a little bit lighter than my natural lip colour so if I were to buy another shade I would want it to be a tad bit darker. I don’t normally go for a natural lip colour but this isn’t too bad. It’s the texture that make me crazy. It’s very uncomfortable like I put liquid plastic on. The whole time I’m wearing it I’m trying to mash my lips together to smooth it out. I find crumbs, when I wipe it off it leaves a residue that I just can’t describe.

NYX Blush an Contour Duo

I’m never really a big fan of duo products or these kinda two in one pan things. I feel as though I can’t get just the colour I want without picking the other one up and it looking muddy. These colours are no where near a natural tone for me. I’m thinking of trying them out again in the summer and seeing if it matches a little closer when I have a tan going on.

NYX HD Finishing Powder

This stuff oh man I don’t even know. After putting this on my skin looked so matte but dry and unhealthy looking. It was not a good look for me. I tried it with a more dewy looking foundation and it was okay but still kinda looked like I don’t know I was a ghost? Like white powder face. I guess if I was going for that really dry white powdery dead look this would come in handy. It’s going into my Halloween bag I think.

NYX All Over Balm in Argan Oil

I’m not too thrilled about this product either. There are other products on the market that offer the same or better outcomes. The packaging is terrible you literally dig it out with your finger so it can easily become a breeding place for bacteria. It’s pretty greasy so I wouldn’t really want to put it anywhere that it might make me break out. I only tried it on my lips and it smells a whole lot better than it tastes. I don’t think it is actually that moisturizing it is more like putting petroleum jelly on.

NYX Matte Finish Setting Spray

What I don’t understand about this setting spray is the first ingredient is water followed by alcohol. I tried this with my everyday foundation and initially looked good but as the day wore on my face started looking flat not matte but that same unhealthy dry looking skin. I tried it with a tinted moisturizer and that was better I didn’t look as dry and unhealthy. I’ll keep it around for that purpose, maybe in the hotter summer months it will be a good item, but I won’t repurchase.

So basically I bought a travel bag here and everything else was disappointing. I’m not sure what’s going on I used to love NYX products but lately it seems like the quality of the products are just getting worse. I will be less likely to reach for NYX cosmetics in the future as this was a complete let down. I’ll try the products again in the future as I have mentioned and maybe I’ll get use out of them yet.

7 thoughts on “NYX Cosmetics & A Travel Bag

    1. Yeah, I’m still loving their lipsticks and a few other really hit items so I’m just as surprised that these were such misses! I got a big makeup on the go palette at around the same time which I also haven’t reviewed yet or really tried. I have good hopes for that as the swatches so far were beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll probably give it a good review in March. I should have more free time to do a big post like that the palette has 36 eyeshadows, 3 contour shades 3 highlighters, 3 blushes and 7 lipsticks. So it’s not a quick review to easily bust out in a hurry.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

