Groundhogs Day!

Hello Everyone,

Happy Groundhog’s Day! I am writing this before the the actual Groundhog Celebration so I do not know yet what the outcome will be. We haven’t had a whole lot of winter weather this year so the weather could do anything. Though according to Leo DiCaprio who thinks are natural weather patterns are a sign of doom or whatever he is blindly rambling on about. This is completely normal weather we are having and some people need to do actual research instead of spreading fear. Anyway enough about that before I get even more angry at him. You are losing respect points buddy! Chinooks have been happening in Alberta for as long as the Rocky Mountains have been towering nearby!

Wow did I get off topic. What I really wanted to talk about was Groundhogs Day. Here in Canada we have 5 official groundhogs well we did have 5, Winnipeg Willow died only days before Groundhogs day.

The task of “predicting” the weather now falls upon the remaining 4 Groundhogs, Manitoba Merv, Brandon Bob, Ontario’s Wiarton Willie, and Nova Scotia’s Shubenacadie Sam.

If you want to learn more about Winnipeg Willow check out the link.

543844_412311898846442_1110613344_n
Winnipeg Willow Photo from Prairie Wildlife Rehabilitation

 

Do you do anything special for groundhogs Day? If so please share with me maybe you go out and watch or have a gathering let me know in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Groundhogs Day!

  1. I did not know that there was a day like groundhogs day being celebrated in Canada. This is a good source of information about groundhogs. I haven’t seen one of these furry animals. The one in the picture looks too cute ! this is a nicely written post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s kind of silly, Groundhogs Day is about predicting an early or not spring depending on if they see their shadow. I know sounds crazy but people go for it clearly! The groundhog in the picture is Winnipeg Willow, she accurately predicted spring once I think?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If I have time when I get home from work maybe I will write a post more about what Groundhogs Day is and when and why its a thing. I guess I didn’t consider not all my readers recognize this day. I’ll include some predictions too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

