I’m just here to learn..

Quick rant..

Today I had a seminar in a nearby city to get certification so I may grow within my current career choice. Now this specific certificate should have come with sort of sensitivity training as it can and may be a very sensitive issue for the people involved. We arrived on time, early in fact and took our places within the meeting room it was held in. Several participants came in late, okay whatever things can happen we will forgive this, lets not let it bug me and go on. These same participants continued to laugh, joke, and gossip the entire day! What is worse they were only across the aisle from me soย  you can imagine this was very distracting. The presenter even stopped a few times and asked if she had said something wrong, offending, or funny to these individuals. You think that would stop this behavior but no, it did not. Other participants had actually discussed with the presenter that they had to leave early so they asked if she could change her presentation to do the 2nd half first!? Who does that!? So the presentation goes on this way, some left early, some continued to socialize, until another participant mentioned she had a long drive home if the presentation could be sped along. I couldn’t believe it, she plowed through the material faster! English was this lady’s second language so it was already hard to follow her, she admitted her English was not very good! This was a small seminar there was only 10 people there including myself! It’s my understanding that most of the people there, were only there to renew their certificate and were already familiar with everything, so they didn’t care. This was my first time there, first time learning about this subject, no prior history whatsoever! My learning was hindered as a result of everyone there. I feel as though the presenter catered to everyone else except the one individual who came to learn something for THE FIRST TIME! She completely skipped over the basics and the how to, the know all. I am really knowledgeable about the company and the products but I am certified to do something I am not even trained or shown how to do. Oh did I mention this course cost my boss a full day’s pay for me as well as 150 bucks (can)! She plans to send me to another course in the future so I can actually learn something. What a complete waste.. I would have learned more from a google search.

Sorry to rant at you all but I’m so grumpy, I can’t think of anything else I want to talk about except how grumpy I am.

37 thoughts on “I’m just here to learn..

    1. Oh it’s unreal, I am still in disbelief. Even now as I’m going through the paperwork I was given to take home, material that was shown in the slides were not a part of my package and vice verse. The worst seminar I have ever attended hands down.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have had worse. I had yearly CPR renewals, they make them an extra hour a year to basically repeat the same thing and at the end of the day nobodt that takes it will ever take a chance or have a safety mesh to allow them to stay safe. I did first aid, pt ones and a few others and there are always ppl that mess it up. As you stated, you basically are there on paper. I did my bartending license and the “test” was doing 20 different drinks in 12 minutes with fake colored water and no way to fail and you fear doing a cocktail hour where you know you may do 90 drinks. That’s tense but supposedly fun yet my pt one I would challenge the speakers and those that attacked them erroneously, while I counted the amount of people paying 1100 for a 6 day seminar and testing and having ppl that know nothing and an 80 to pass, yet nobody fails, which is impossible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I was tested on what I am certified to do I would fail. I wasn’t even shown how to do it. It’s such a sensitive subject to talk about for those that are victims and it’s my job to help them through it and provide them with what they need. In an already bad situation I’d have to turn this person down even though I’m certified. This is not good as you can imagine.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was supposed to cover, well I thought it was going to cover, some sensitivity training to provide emotional support. Post mastectomy care, measuring and fitting external breast prostheses, custom breast prostheses, mastectomy garments, lymphedema garments, and other breast care products.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Honestly I didn’t realize what I wasn’t learning until it was too late. A co worker of mine was with me, she had done this course before but with a different company and filled me in to this. Actually didn’t know she ha done the second half of her presentation first until two women walked out in the middle of it. She had a measuring tape, I was seriously still waiting to learn how to measure for these things when she said we were done! We get the certificates mailed out so I don’t want to jeopardize not getting that. Once those are in you bet they are getting a heartfelt complaint!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I would hope so. A friend of mine last year wanting to do two certs, one for blood drawing and the other sonograms. She told me the name of the company and I said they were a scam, she paid, she went and she never received anything. They were a moving operation and there is always someone to complain online.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yikes! That’s the worst! I know this company is a reputable one, we have been dealing with them for years. I have products from the everyday sports line and love them. I’m so shocked this happened because they have been so good in the past. Just a bad circumstance after bad circumstance. I mean they are govt approved govt doesn’t spend money easily on that kind of thing!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Like I said most of the women there were only there to get re-certified. In order for a company to have access to a certain government subsidized program for these patients there must be a fitter with a certification no older than three years. So,they didn’t care about learning what they already knew. I think I was the only one there for the first time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s just plain rude though not to consider that someone might be there for the first time. Hopefully you’ll be able to learn more about it soon ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. I think the next course is 2-4 months with another company. I’ll “sit in” on fittings until that time if the patient allows, but I won’t do it on my own until I get better training that wouldn’t be fair to the patient.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Excuse my language, but that’s SO shitty of them! And the fact that the presenter went along with them, are they serious?! Wow. Sucks you’ll have to take it again after your boss paid it all, hopefully the next group of people and presenter aren’t the same. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I thought bout it all night too. Just how that ourse could have passed to certify people for a govt program. Also that there may be others out there certified doing this job without the proper knowledge. it’s frightening!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Its a shame that people were not keen on listening to her and kept distracting her (and shortening her presentation for their pleasure). Some people just care about getting a piece of paper so they can advance in their career while others like to actually dig in and have an experience of the real thing.. I hope you get a better presentation and explanations next time. All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh, I can’t believe the nerve of some people! Lol If I was the presenter I would have never gave in like that and kindly remind them that I’m here to teach those who genuinely come to learn, even if just one person, not just carelessly skim through stuff to accommodate the selfish desires of people who are being disruptive! Sometimes we just have to be assertive. Hopefully your next one goes much better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Even thinking about it again just so ridiculous. Some people care to please others so much they lose sight. The women there though, I can’t even put to words. Just so selfish and yes they were intimidating especially the group. They were much older than me yet I surpass them in maturity. I am not 100% sure yet but I think I have a new class on the same topic in 3 weeks just waiting for confirmation!

      Like

      1. I can just imagine! I’m not easily annoyed but I was annoyed at them just reading and imagining your situation! Lol The bright side is at least you aren’t like that! I would prefer having to put up with people with rude manners than being one! I hope your next one will be more successful, with more people who actually want to learn.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Agreed me too, I’ve heard really good things about the class I’m going to and I think I’ve been to one before from this company just a different course so I know it will be good.

        Like

Leave a Reply

