Rosemary Dijon Roast Beef and Gravy

I stumbled upon this recipe by accident. I had originally planned on making an Irish stew with mashed potatoes but I pulled out the wrong protein and had to change my course. I threw this recipe together on the spot and it turned out to be one of the best tasting roast dinner’s I’ve ever had. I’m not the greatest at actually measuring as I’m cooking so a lot of the measurements listed are estimated. I’ve spent years cooking professionally, I’m only recently teaching myself to record and write my own recipes so bear with me.

Rosemary Dijon Roast Beef

1 3-4 lb Roast

1 sm onion, chopped

3-4 carrots, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

3-4 tbsp Whole grain mustard or Dijon

1 tbsp honey

1 Tbsp Worcestershire

1 tsp rosemary

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

3 cups Beefstock

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp flour

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. In a roasting pan add 1 cup beef stock, carrots, and roast. Season roast with salt and pepper.

2. In a small bowl combine garlic, mustard, honey, Worcestershire, and rosemary. Coat mustard mixture on all sides of roast beef in a thin consistent layer. It’s okay if some falls in the beef stock mixture it will be added flavour for the drippings.

3. Cook in oven covered. If you have a fatty side to the beef your going to want to either oven sear this at 450F for 10 minutes uncovered or in a frying pan. If not continue as I have directed. For Medium rare about 2 hours or until internal temperature reads 145F. For medium to well done cook for 21/2-3 hours or until internal temperature reads 160F. Allow beef to rest set aside tented in foil on a cutting board for at least 10-15 minutes before cutting.

4. Remove vegetables from roaster and set aside.

5. Meanwhile add butter and flour together in a saucepan over medium low heat stirring constantly for about 3-5 minutes. Gradually add dripping from roaster and remaining beef stock stirring constantly until gravy has thickened to a desired consistency.

Serve with mashed potatoes or your choice of side. For another alternative add potatoes right into the roaster for a one pot kind of meal.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Rosemary Dijon Roast Beef and Gravy

Leave a Reply

