Chocolate Bread Pudding with Creme Anglaise

Hello Everyone,

The other day we bought some bread and I don’t know what was going on but it didn’t taste very yummy. It wasn’t old or stale just I don’t know maybe overcooked or something went wrong. I can’t stand throwing things away so I decided to whip up a bread pudding. It’s been so long since I made a bread pudding or creme anglaise but I think it turned out pretty good.

This is a really rough recipe and I think in the future some elements need to be tweaked to perfect it but here’s how it was made today.

Bread Pudding

8-10 slices of Texas style bread cubed

3 cups of milk I used 2% this could be substituted with heavy cream for a richer bread pudding

3 large eggs, beaten lightly

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 Tbsp cocoa powder, I used my Bellagio chocolate Cherry sipping chocolate

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup butter, melted

Creme Anglaise

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup heavy cream

vanilla bean sliced and seeded

2 egg yolks, beaten lightly

1/4 cup white sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit.  Line 9×13 pan in parchment paper

Spread bread cubes evenly in pan. combine remaining ingredients whisking to incorporate. Pour evenly over bread.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until fully cooked through

Meanwhile, combine milk and cream in a small saucepan and bring to a boil and remove from heat

In a small bowl combine egg yolks and sugar. Gradually add warmed milk mixture to egg mixture stirring constantly to temper the eggs. Once incorporated add vanilla and return mixture to med low heat stirring constantly to thicken

Once thickened run through a fine mesh sieve and chill.

Serve Bread pudding warmed and drizzle with creme anglaise

 

I got impatient standing on my sore foot and didn’t thicken my creme anglaise enough but still tasted yummy. I did this recipe from memory from my cooking days and I feel like I am forgetting something, like I said I’m going to tweak this recipe a bit more to my taste. I don’t like raisins most bread puddings have raisins that’s why I wanted the chocolate element. I think I want to try blueberries next time.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Bread Pudding with Creme Anglaise

Leave a Reply

