NOTW-First Impression

Hello everyone,

I thought it was about time a nail polish addict such as myself busted out and tried something new. I finally Picked up Sally Hanson Miracle Gel polish. I’ve been eyeing these ever since they came on the scene. This product has mixed reviews, some people love it and some people hate it.

first impressions

I chose the Step 1 Colour Bordeaux Glow From the Sally Hansen Midnight rendezvous and Step 2 Top Coat.

This stuff is a bit more pricey than some of the other brands you typically find at the drugstore selling for $12.99 (cad) a bottle. They do go on sale though so I would wait for a sale or a coupon before purchasing.

Initially I do have to say the Step 1 colour looks better in the bottle than it does on the nail, not sure why that is almost as though it oxidizes. The brush itself is large I found it hard to do my pinkie nail without getting it on my skin. The step 1 colour dried very quickly, within minutes it was dry to the touch, I did not test if it had completely hardened by denting it. I did wait 30 minutes between coats as I usually do even though it seemed dry. I noticed that I could see the brush strokes even after it had completely dried. Not a huge fan of that. It states on the bottle no base coats is necessary just 2 coats of step 1 and one coat of step 2 and that’s exactly what I did. Something tells me I’ll be regretting that decision when my nails are stained next week, I’ll let you know.

I was hoping the brush stroke look would go away when I applied the step 2 top coat, it didn’t. Step 2 top coat takes a bit longer to dry than the step 1 colour. The brush again is really wide and hard to paint those small nails. Step 2 really did brighten and shine the colour step so it looked more true to what’s in the bottle. I’m really wondering how step 2 top coat performs on it’s own or with one of my other non gel polishes. I instantly noticed both formulas are really thick. They go on the nail thick as well, even though I scraped off the excess product the gel went on in a thick layer. I would say step 1 on it’s own would be great for a manicure when your in a hurry with a quick dry top coat. I’m wanting to try step 2 with one of my other non gel polishes and I’ll let you know how that goes. I’m going to go ahead and see how this wears and I’ll let you know how it went on next weeks NOTW post.

Have you tried these Miracle Gel Polishes before? If so what did you think about it?

5 thoughts on “NOTW-First Impression

Leave a Reply

