My Top Reads For 2015

Hello everyone!

I’ve narrowed my favourite reads this year to two titles. They weren’t necessarily released in 2015 but that’s when I read them so on to it my top reads for 2015!

IMG_20151230_111207

The Bear by Clair Cameron. A story of a camping trip gone wrong and the fight to stay alive. The story reads from a 5 year old’s point of view. I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy that at first but it captured the little girl in me. I was terrified in a way that no novel, no horror, no story had ever touched me before. I barely put this down the entire time I was reading it, unless I had to compose myself as I could no longer read through the tears. Yes folks I basically ugly cried through the whole novel. I remember my spouse turning to me amazed that a few printed pages could affect me so much. The story was beautiful and still haunts me to this day. I absolutely recommend this read to everyone, I know I’ll be returning to it again.

PSX_20151230_111239

Zoo by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge. What encouraged me to pick this up was right on the second page “People around the world are panicking and this time it’s not zombies.” I guess that day I was feeling Zombie overload as I still wanted an apocalypse kinda story to comfort me but was feeling burnt out on Zombies. Great a zombie story without your typical stereotype perfect! The story is just that animals are changing and it threatens the human population. It’s a terrifying thought and the story in fact gave me thrills and still does now. I had a nightmare about it recently, so you know it was good! There was a point when my cat was snuggling me while I was reading and I felt compelled to shoo her. There is also a TV series featuring this story. Most times I’d agree that the novel is always better but I really enjoyed the series as well. There is so much they expanded on by extending permanent roles to side characters and exploring more possibilities of an all out animal attack. I love it and I’m going to go ahead and say it I think the TV series out does the novel and I hope it gets renewed again and again!

I read many more novels this year that just didn’t make the cut to favourites. I felt betrayed by the horror novels I read, as almost all of the ones I picked up were in a cops point of view! I’m not into crime reads, I want to be scared not bored! Some reads I picked up I just wanted to get it over with because I found the characters so unbelievable that I couldn’t get into the story. Hopefully 2016 will be a better year for reading for me and less “get if over with” stories.  I hope you enjoy my picks and feel free to share yours with me.

Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “My Top Reads For 2015

Leave a Reply

