Busy Hooker

Hello everyone,

I am currently teaching myself to crochet. I recently learned that when reading a crochet pattern there are different patterns from US and UK. As if it didn’t already look foreign to me. Because I am Canadian I may be influenced or may come across patterns from both languages. This greatly confused me at first! I’m still learning all that and reading a pattern is still a learning curve so I have gone to YouTube for demonstrations! I knew the next thing I wanted to learn was granny squares, and found this very helpful video. I’m nearly half done making the squares, and after I’m done those it looks like a lot of sewing for me. I’m hoping by the time I’ve finished this project I will have also learned how to read and write a pattern in both US and UK so I can share what I’ve created with you pattern and all!

Happy hooking!

23 thoughts on “Busy Hooker

  1. Your work looks nice! I love crocheting, but I stink at reading directions. I found a tutorial for wash clothes that was really easy to read. I made 4 of them with cotton yarn and they shrunk like mad in the dryer. Now they’re minis! πŸ™‚ Good luck with your yarn endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! As a newbie I learned I should start of with acrylic. It’s not the softest stuff but it is easy to work with. I’ve made one afghan and two toques. I havn’t had a problem with shrinking yet. Always keep the packaging of yarn it’ll have washing instructions on them. Try YouTube too I found it really helpful to watch someone and follow along. Good luck to you as well with your hooking!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These look great! In the future, you can definitely crochet your squares together as you go to save yourself from seaming. On the outermost round, insert your hook into the corresponding stitch on the previous square (during each double crochet or chain stitch), yarn over, and draw the loop through everything on your needle like you normally would.

    It isn’t quite as pretty as a normal or decorative seam would be, but my least favorite things to do are seam and weave in ends. Anything to get out of that is a win in my book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I was thinking of that too so many ends to weave and so many seams! I’ve never done either before and I don’t know if I want to incorporate a new colour to join them up or just seam them I’m still deciding. I appreciate the tip if I choose that route I’ll need to come back and reference it! I’m leaning more toward an invisible looking seam and I may be regretting that after I realize how much sewing but its a learning curve! Thanks again!

      Like

      1. Truly, it is. I’ve nearly reached a half way point in a blanket I was making, but now I don’t like how messed up it is, so I’m ripping it out and starting over. I feel a little crazy, but it’s fun so I guess I don’t mind so much. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Genevieve, I am just re-learning crochet after 40 years – so much fun & works up fast. Love your sherbet coloured granny squares. Thanks so much for following me at inknpetals.wordpress.com – much appreciated. Linda Paupst

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s wonderful! I am just loving the experiences and learning this skill! There are so many projects I can’t wait to try! Thanks for stopping by and checking me out. I’ll post the finished product if I ever get it all together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

